Is there Racism in Childcare

Questions relating to staff, dealing with parents, work ethics, implementing regulations, room management, supporting team members, motivating staff, etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Jennyloh

Is there Racism in Childcare

Post by Jennyloh » Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:37 am

honestly (if this sound offensive to others, I would like to apologize) before I was accepted with my current center, I found it difficult to secure this job. I am not sure if those centers I went for interviewed were looking into skin colour. I am Chinese and I do speak several languages and I am an experience music teacher as well. But this seem not to be their priority or favorite when hiring a staff. In fact, most of them are looking for an Australian or others like British or Americans. I may not speak fluently like the Australian, without accent, but I think is acceptable.

I am very confused and upset because I realize that racist did occurred in this career. Therefore, please share with me if overall this career is not suitable for people like me. Or maybe it could be just my perception and is not truth.

Your advise is much appreciated :(

hunterchick

Re: Is there Racism in Childcare

Post by hunterchick » Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:26 am

Hi Jenny, I just saw your post and I wann share my experience with you. I personally wouldn't hesitate to say that the "racism" in Australia is far much lesser than many many countries in the world. I have noticed that the Aussies are particularly welcoming and easy going and doesnt care much about skin colour or racial background. This is generally the case with majority of the population. However there are still some small cases. End of the day, the number of these people are very less and it is not fair to generalise the whole country due to the very small number of people with negative behaviour.